Album Cover
Everything Good is on the Highway
Jef Chandler
Released: Dec 27, 2004
Track Listing
1 Empire of Idle Thoughts
2 Smashed Penny Earrings
3 Turn
4 Open Door
5 Pockets and Locks
6 There's a Way Out
7 Everything Good is on the Highway
8 Jordan
9 Make Up My Mind
10 Roll Me Over
11 A Rose is a Rose is a Name

Liner Notes

    Everything Good is on the Highway is my second solo CD. It was recorded and mixed over a four year period from 2000 to 2004 at the Jam Room in Columbia, SC, and was engineered by Dave Alewine and Jay Matheson. The recording is an eclectic collection of songs that range in style from rock to country to bluegrass, and it features many of the musicians that made up the Jef Chandler Band at that time. 

    Musicians performing on the album include Matthew Smith (drums), Mark Dye (bass), John Atkins (guitar), Jeff Holland (percussion), Charles Hedgepath (guitar, mandolin, and vocals), Matt Morgan (guitar and vocals), Mike Bagwell (dobro and pedal steel), Chris Garrett (bass), Andrea Christopher-Snipes (vocals), and Dave Sims (vocals).

    The title of the CD is taken from a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson that goes, "If we will take the good we find, asking no questions, we shall have heaping measures. The great gifts are not got by analysis. Everything good is on the highway."